A Pilgrim’s Musings

Life Lessons from High School

Published by

on

Describe something you learned in high school.

High school years went by like a blur for a teener. I can recall fun times, challenging times, and many beautiful memories with classmates and batchmates. There were several lessons, though, which I continue to hold in my heart.

It was in high school that I learned social concern and how important it is for me to participate in social mobilizations or do my share in the bigger effort for social transformation. This was at the height of Martial Law years in the country, I have seen poverty around, and a massacre happened in town when the people were holding a rally to end the dictatorship. This was one significant event that shaped some choices I made after, like joining organizations and even choosing Sociology as a course in college and the work I would do after. Little did I know that it would also chart the course of my life, which brought me to social development work and even teaching.

Another important lesson was on friendship. Some of my closest friends are actually high school buddies, with whom I share great memories with, our first crush, my first failed quiz in Geometry, our dreams, some crazy adventures and escapades, our high school struggles, going through the confusing puberty stage, and a lot more. To this day, these friendships remain an important support when life gets tough. There is that special bond that would always connect us. I have one circle of friends from high school whom I consider as my best friends.

Many foundational values were cemented during high school, though introduced since grade school, as this was the time when I could already understand things. Some of these are: honesty in academics, hard work, respect for self and others, and faith in God. I mentioned social concern, which developed my sense of social responsibility and my love for our country.. I learned how to nurture and value relationships because of my friends from way back. I carry all these with me to this day.

High school life will always be a cherished memory.

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post